Gearing Up to Go Home

If you’ve been keeping up with my countdown, you know that I’m scheduled to go home soon. I’ve been keeping the target on Christmas because that’s when I knew I would definitely be back in Alabama, but it looks like it will be sooner than that.

I’ve already mailed some of my gear home. Some people buy big plastic trunks and stuff them to the gills with their junk. The idea behind it is that the more you ship, the less you have to drag home in a bag.

I’ve spent most of the deployment as a minimalist. People mostly sent consumables to me. Stuff I can’t use completely (like the 40 packs of Kleenex) are being donated to others. So, this should help.

I did receive a few things I want to keep. There are some John Grisham books I haven’t finished yet, and someone gave me a DVD of “The Village.” Joaquin Phoenix was in this movie before he went crazy.

With luck, I should be traveling relatively light on the way home.

You’ll notice that I slowed down my blog entries the past couple of weeks. It’s not that I ran out of stuff to talk about, but rather I’ve been preoccupied with several media events on my plate. I’ve got one more event to coordinate, which has been made all the more difficult given that I’ve been filling in for my boss for two weeks.

I’m hoping that by the time that event rolls around, I’ll be sipping glasses of milk on a luxurious plane back to the United States. Just kidding. The plane will be less than luxurious, but I will be served milk from a champagne glass.

4 thoughts on “Gearing Up to Go Home

  1. There are three things a warrior does NOT do. 1. Refuse a meal cause you don’t know when the next one will be. 2. Throw rocks at Megatron while trying to outdraw the Lone Ranger. 3. Turn down an opportunity to drink anything (within reason) from a champagne flute!!! Other than keeping Generals straight and nearly having an Admiral Kirk type fire you, YOU ACCOMPLISHED THE MISSION. Congratulations, and have a good journey home. Dad

Comments are closed.