All Gummed Up

While I was out of town earlier this week, one of the reporters I was hosting asked me if I wanted a piece of gum. He handed me a piece of Iraqi gum.

Now, the obvious question is why in the world I would accept gum from a stranger.

When you do media relations, the word “relations” figures greatly into it. So, I will generally accept a piece of gum from someone. I won’t be chewing that piece of gum, but I’ll accept it… and put it in my pocket. You never know what you’re getting from a stranger.

Just before I hid the gum in my pocket, though, I took a picture of it. What struck me as odd was that it was a piece of spearmint gum manufactured in Baghdad, but the packaging was completely written in English.

One thing they have in ample supply here is Ice Cubes.  No, not the rapper or frozen water. I mean the gum.

They are little cubes of gum, and they are all over the place. In fact, the general was playing around with a box of these things when we were at Taji.

Still, I think I’ve had my fill of chewing gum for a while. I often get a cramp in my jaw from chewing too much. Of all addictions to get, chewing gum was the last thing I thought would hook me.

2 thoughts on “All Gummed Up

  1. I’m not a big gum chewer. It’s been MONTHS (minimum) since I last chewed a piece. My memory is that someone offered a piece to me, and it sounded good.

    Occasionally, though, I just NEED chewing gum. And I chew and I chew and I chew. Then my jaw hurts, and I don’t chew gum again for months and months and months. 🙂

  2. What other things are manufactured in Bagdad? I guess my impression of the place is that it is a huge city with nothing going on but people setting bombs or trying to avoid bombs and families trying to find food. I never dreamed something was actually manufactured there. I see I have a very narrow view of the place, so please educate me.

Comments are closed.