Blogging a Rock

It’s not lost on anyone that Iraq is a giant desert wasteland, but every now and then you find things that seem completely out of place… like this rock, for instance.

I took this photo back in September on a trip up to Camp Taji. Remember the ruins I described?

The rock itself was located near a shuttle bus stop next to the lodging facility where I was spending the night. In truth, I actually found it indoors. The sad thing is that the place was so dirty, it looks like the photo was taken outside.

I realize I titled this post as a clever little pun on the title of this blog, “Blogging Iraq.” However, there really isn’t a lot you can say about a rock.

I have been giving lots of thought to what will become of Blogging Iraq once I return home. Is Iraq something that I should continue monitoring from afar in order to continue the blog? Is there someone in Iraq who would be willing to continue blogging after I leave? Should I just let it die a natural death?

Decisions, decisions.

Actually, I have no idea what I want to do. I’m open to suggestions! I’ve posted this handy poll to make it a little easier. Let me know what you think!

8 thoughts on “Blogging a Rock

  1. I voted to enlist a different author. I’ve been wondering what you were going to do with it, and I think asking another soldier to take over and report on his experiences is a great idea.

  2. My vote was for abandoning the blog, but only because you didn’t give the exact option I wanted:

    Most of the blog should die a natural death. This is all your voice; anyone else who wants to put their voice on can do so. BUT…

    I know one of the ways I kept my sanity during my two years in “my Corps” was by keeping a journal. I filled up two full books before starting an electric one. (This was in addition to all the personal letters I wrote, and my email distributions – “blogs”.) Blogging serves the same purpose – an outlet for your emotions, and a point of stability.

    Everyone always says coming back has its own traumas. I recommend continuing your blog about your experiences reintegrating. Partly it’s an outlet for you, and partly it’s a way for you to share what it’s like for an armed forces person to come back from Iraq. You don’t have to post as regularly, but it would probably help for a bit.

    THEN… let the blog die a natural death. As you integrate, and have less special experiences to share, stop sharing them.

    So… why wasn’t that (20+ line) option one of the ones I could vote for? πŸ˜‰

    • Actually, there was a character limitation, so no… no category for that. However, I’ve been leaning towards the hybrid of options like you describe, Scott.

      Still, I could try to integrate that into a less-wordy option.

  3. This blog can only be done by someone who is living the experience, so, since you aren’t volunteering to remain (thank goodness), I think you either have to let it go or find a new person to continue it. This blog offers something of value and should continue, so I hope you will be able to find the right person to keep it going.

  4. I vote with Scott on this one, but I would try to publish with permission in the Base publication, using someone who takes over and also your re-integration. There are a great number of returnees whose voices are never heard again and the experience of getting back into double-harness has the potential to help someone else find a way back to the realities of being “back”. I didn’t when I came back from Vietnam and that was a serious personal and professional mistake. Do it AT YOUR LEISURE AND INCORPORATE JENN’S POINT OF VIEW into your process, if you choose to continue. Privacy is a good thing but weigh it in view of what good can come out of it. DAD

  5. Pingback: Unanswered Questions « Blogging Iraq

Comments are closed.