A Taste of India

Every morning, I get the exact same breakfast I’ve had for the past five months. It’s scrambled eggs, a few strips of bacon, turkey sausage, and grits.

In Baghdad, you would expect that some locals would be serving the food, but ironically, the people serving the food to me are neither Iraqi nor American. They are Indian.

They are all very polite, too, which is something I’m used to from all the cruise ships I’ve sailed. One guy in particular is really terrific to me. His name is Dinesh. I presume he is in his mid-20s.

Early on, I established myself as the guy who puts his grits on top of his eggs. It’s a southern thing. I won’t make fun of the weird crap you eat, so let’s just leave it there. Anyway, Dinesh is always happy to oblige my weird eating habits. He takes care to ensure the right amount of grits goes on top (even though I’ve never complained about the amount).

He doesn’t speak a whole lot of English, but he is better than most at the dining facility. There is one dude who only knows the names of the foods, but don’t dare ask him what kind of glaze is on the Roast Pork Loin. His response is usually “roast pork loin” said as if he’s asking me whether I want it. When I ask again and get the same response, that’s when I’m pretty sure I don’t want the pork anymore.

(Photo from Flickr)

4 thoughts on “A Taste of India

  1. I’m very glad that you get your grits and eggs there and that such a nice person as Dinesh gets it right. Tell him thanks from me.
    I see that your pictured, good example is McDonald’s. Big breakfast is coming soon!

    Love,
    Mom

  2. That puts Dinesh in FABULOUS company as your Mom and Pat have also served you well over the years. Just don’t ask for Apple Juice after eating cereal and, perhaps, losing control of a couple of grains. (Ref: Great Apple Juice spilling SAGA on Willow Court, Circa: 1986/87). You, of course, will never be able to enlighten and delight Dinesh with this story, but I bet he would understand. Dad

  3. To make this short, It is Thanksgiving week. Thanks for being there and pass my thanks to your fellow service members. It is hard to get many things done here but just think how difficult it would all be if you all were not serving our country and making everything in this country possible. My love and respect to all of you. Send this where you will and keep the faith!!! Hopefully it will be over soon, just hang in there and keep the Hailing Frequencies open. Be safe, Ladies & Gentlemen, watch out for each other, and keep the mission out front!!!! MSgt (Ret) Gene Kimberly (So much for short)!

  4. Darn it! I saw the picture, and was sure you’d be talking about how Indians are running a local McDonald’s or something.

    Boo!

    Oh well. Happy Turkey-week from the US anyway.

Comments are closed.