Connecting with Home

Skyping with DaddyTonight, I had a chance to Skype with my son. He’s almost two years old, and he’s grown so much since I’ve been gone. He doesn’t even look the same.

Well, my wife tells me that she is always showing him my picture and telling him that I’m his daddy.

I don’t always know what’s going through his head when he’s talking (gibberishing) with me, but he always tries to plant a kiss on me.

He’s a good little boy sometimes, but I hear that he is good at trying my wife’s patience. I’m interested in seeing what happens when I get home. Will he be so ready to hang out with me like we used to? I will have missed more than a quarter of his life. Will that make a difference?

If this video is any indication, we should be just fine.

6 thoughts on “Connecting with Home

  1. He is so adorable (Ferris, that is)! I expect you two will pick up right where you left off. You are going to be surprised how much he remembers. As for the rest of us, we will all be glad to see you home again.

  2. My guess (and I speak from experience) it will be a little off at first, but you will fall right back into your family routine in no time.

  3. No, my son, he won’t forget!!! Lynn is right, the schedule will be a little off but it won’t be long til all is back to “normal”. I have always said that children KNOW their Parents (specifically) and their other family members because they remember (from first contact) what smells are associated with Dad, Mom, etc. I remember your smell when you were a baby (we won’t go into all of them). All of you had wonderful, attractive smells and though they change over the years, US ELEPHANTS NEVER FORGET!!!!

Comments are closed.