We’re Not Delta Airlines

C-17 Globemaster IIII’ve been pulling my hair out all week because I’m a little more than a month away from departing, but I don’t have my flight info. It’s not for a lack of trying.

Late last week, I received some information about my flight home, which was obviously wrong. The date was way too early. Don’t get me wrong. I want to leave, but the date they gave me was so early, it felt like I was cheating.

Both my boss and I reached back and tried to get the flight changed, which happened, but the next flight I received had me leaving a little too early as well.

At the same time, the Air Force decided that they didn’t like how my position was coded in their system regarding my transportation options. They recoded me altogether, and my flight slipped back a full two weeks from the very first date I received. This was way too late to get me back home.

So, it’s been a tug of war all week trying to get these flights locked down so that I don’t overstay my welcome in Iraq. I’m not likely to get any firm flight dates or times until the end of the month, which is frustrating.

I’m not sure why it’s so difficult for the Air Force to get flight scheduling and people scheduling down. Nearly bankrupt commercial airlines figure out how to do this on a daily basis, but somehow the Air Force just has no idea how to schedule flights and their passengers efficiently.

(C-17 photo via Flickr)

5 thoughts on “We’re Not Delta Airlines

  1. Regardless, things do get a little confusing when scheduling flights and not being near Delta. Relax, you’ll make it out with a little patience. We’ll be waiting. Dad

  2. Yes, the process of concluding one’s mission and redeploying can be a challenge. From my experience last month, BLUF: Everything is an individual responsibility unless otherwise specified.

    All of that said, however, please just sit back and relax and let the process go, or not, which sometimes happens. You will probably have a few days in, say, Qatar, to decompress and await your flight across the ocean. This is useful, as doing it all quickly can leave you dislocated and stressed out at home [not a good idea].

    Once your mission is complete, you can always go out to BIAP with your orders to fly Space-A. You may have to wait a while, but you’ll eventually get home. With the thanks of your country.

  3. Pingback: United States Air Farce « Blogging Iraq

Comments are closed.