Boomtown

Shrapnel vs. TruckLast night, we were attacked by rockets yet again. Unlike the other attacks, this one specifically targeted where I live.

I took a picture of a truck, which was parked about five to 10 feet away from one of the points of impact. The shrapnel from the exploding rocket damaged the truck and flattened the two tires on its left side.

This picture is clickable, so you might be able to see a little more detail.

You know, I’ve actually lost count of the number of times we’ve been attacked, but I know I’ve heard the sirens at least five times in the past five months.

In this attack, my roommate and I rolled over onto the floor when the sirens went off. That’s what you’re supposed to do, but I’m not certain there’s a great difference in protection on the floor vs. laying in the bed.

The scariest part was hearing the whooshing sound of the rockets overhead and then their subsequent impacts. Actually, the whole experience itself was scary, and it’s the part of deploying that really messes you up in the head. Well, it messes me up, anyway.

Several people were hurt, but they will all be okay. That’s a good story, but it’s not always the case.

I only have about six weeks left. Christmas cannot get here fast enough.

6 thoughts on “Boomtown

  1. God was watching over you and the rest of the military members. I pray for your safe return and I am so glad you are ok. Christmas will be here soon and you wil be in the safe arms of your wife and son. The truck was not so lucky though, was it?

    Pat

  2. It is said that the one you DON’T hear is the one that gets you. There IS a difference between bed level vs floor level. Glad the injuries were not more serious. Keep ur head down, We love you. Dad

  3. STAY ON THE FLOOR!!!
    You will be the best Christmas present any of us have ever had!
    We pray for your safety and well being every day.
    Love you so much!

  4. Glad to hear you’re ok.

    I’m guessing, on the floor, you’re safer from flying shrapnel (things explode in an up direction)?

    Stay safe, just a few weeks to go!

Comments are closed.