It’s a “Jump to Conclusions” Mat!

Jump to Conclusions matToday was one of those days right out of the movie “Office Space.” I love that movie, and the things that happened in it perfectly fit my life back in my old job.

In Baghdad, I’ve apparently created the military equivalent of a “Jump to Conclusions” mat.

When I was briefing a media visit for next week, the general took issue with one portion of it and flatly said, “that is a terrible idea… just a really bad idea.”

I was immediately reminded of the scene where Tom attempts to explain his invention to Peter, Michael (Bolton), and Samir.

Tom Smykowski: It was a “Jump to Conclusions” mat. You see, it would be this mat that you would put on the floor… and would have different CONCLUSIONS written on it that you could JUMP TO.
Michael Bolton: That’s the worst idea I’ve ever heard in my life, Tom.
Samir: Yes, this is horrible, this idea.

So, instead of being crushed about the general hating my idea and flogging me publicly in front of the entire Task Force 134 leadership, I’ve decided that it’s the funniest thing that’s happened to me since the day I arrived here.

I got my revenge, though. I put him on the phone with CNN for more than an hour.

5 thoughts on “It’s a “Jump to Conclusions” Mat!

  1. In retrospect, I bet the idea sounded much better than an hour on the phone with CNN!
    Great ideas are not liked by everyone until they see the positive end result!
    Vision. You have it!

  2. my husband was just referring to that movie today. he was talking about merry squirrels. (actually he said married squirrels but he was just trying to be funny)

  3. Not a good “Mat” because it has a positive result block on it and as we ALL know, NO GOOD DEED SHALL EVER GO UNPUNISHED. Did the General say what he did not like about it?

  4. When I saw this blog, I thought I inspired it with my Halloween costume idea! I’m glad you put a positive spin on getting yelled at. I was cussed out by a septuagenerian today.

  5. I guess that septuagenerians, despite catastrophic memory issues, have not forgotten how to cuss. Take heart, son, there may be OTHERS in your immediate circle in Iraq that should be blessed with such loss.

Comments are closed.