The Storm

LightningFor the first time since I arrived here, and for the first time in several months before that, it finally rained in Baghdad.

As I drove to dinner, I saw a lightning bolt, but I was yet to see rain or any other indication that a storm was coming.

However, a storm is exactly what I ran into as I drove back away from the dining facility. I saw a giant wall of dirt blow across the living areas toward where I was driving. When it hit the car, there was a giant gust of wind and visibility was reduced to near nothing.

It was the most amazing thing I’ve seen weather-wise.  Later that night, the rain actually began, and it poured most of the night.

Still, the ground wasn’t as muddy as I expected. It was a little damp, but it wasn’t so bad that my boots were caked with dirt. I’ve heard that as the rainy season hits, people start rotating which shoes/boots they wear because of the mud.

In other news, I’ve passed the halfway point of my deployment. Only 90-ish days left. The end can’t get here soon enough, believe me.

(Photo borrowed from Colin Edwards at Flickr)

6 thoughts on “The Storm

  1. Neat picture Brad. Hope you enjoyed the rain storm. We have had our fair share here in Atlanta. Seems it will never stop. Right now we are having alot of thunder and lightening, very nice to go to sleep to tho. Glad you have gotten past the halfway point. I know you must be ready to get home. Seeing that much sand every day would drive me bonkers! Do you need anything? Maybe some new magazines? Any movie requests? Let me know and I’ll send them your way. Hang tough.

Comments are closed.