To Err in Spelling

Signs of Spelling NonsenseIf there were not a soldier within sight, there would be an easy way to tell that Camp Victory is an Army base — the signs.

I don’t want to say people in the Army are uneducated, but if the signs posted around the base are any indication, Forrest Gump could be a Camp Victory soldier’s college professor.

Everywhere I go, there are signs. Most of them show some sort of rules or policies. Others are street signs like this one.

The issue here is not that it says you can enter in a “Do Not Enter,” as any reasonable person could assume that it is explaining why you cannot enter. No, the issue here is spelling. For those of you who don’t know better, “entrance” does not have an extra E in the middle.

If it were just this one sign, I wouldn’t make much of a big deal about it. But these mistakes are EVERYWHERE! There is no quality control here. Look at these examples:

  • Outside the dining facility is a mention of some policies enforced in the “dinning facility.”
  • I passed a construction sign that said the speed limit was “5 MHP.” Clearly this is for people who drive cars too “fsat” in construction zones.
  • The sign on my room door suggesting I conserve energy says that “following this recommendations” will help stop power interruptions. If I had a desk in here, I would be banging my head on it.

So, for anyone reading this blog entry, please do me a favor and spell check everything you type. Nothing makes you look like an idiot more than when you misspell “mph” on a road sign.

Yes, I did spell check this entry, by the way.

6 thoughts on “To Err in Spelling

  1. Maybe it wasn’t a speed limit sign at all. Perhaps it was just an attempt to restrict all vehicles to 5 MegaHorsepower or less? I certainly wouldn’t want a Saturn V rocket to come blasting down my street, after all.

  2. Ha! You know how you can tell which service has secured an area?

    When the Navy secures a building, they turn out the lights and lock the hatches.

    When the Army secures a building, they post sentries and check I.D. cards.

    When the Marines secure a building, they call in air strikes and assault through the objective using fire and close combat.

    When the Air Force secures a building, they get a 4 year lease with the option for 4 more years…but I guess the spelling on their signs is correct…

Comments are closed.