You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

Big BouldersToday, I saw something that just blew my mind. I’m still stumped by it, and I don’t know how to even explain it. Yet, I’ll try.

As I was driving out of the area where they wash my vehicle and make it smell like wet dog, I saw the most peculiar thing.

A man was washing a huge rock with a bucket of water and using a water bottle cut on half as a scoop. The rock was about the size of a car tire.

I was instantly floored by this and couldn’t stop laughing. As I drove away (without a photo…. grrrrr…), I said that he only had a few million more square miles to go with his rock cleaning. This devolved to my friend and I doing our worst Iraqi accents saying, “very good, number one rock, very clean, very good.”

The best part was that this was such an important job, the guy was being supervised by three people.

I’m still scratching my head as to why this guy was washing a rock in the middle of the desert, but that’s par for the course, I suppose.

It’s about time someone cleaned up this place.

[Boulder photo by photographer Jef Maion]

3 thoughts on “You Can’t Make This Stuff Up

  1. He must have been serving time for a crime. Or maybe he just likes washing rocks with his friends. Anyway you look at it I agree that it is just weird.

  2. When I was young in the military, they used to make us paint the rocks white, those bordering a small garden/decorative plot of ground near the Headquarters building. To this day, I do not understand (even in the interest of dressing up the place). There must have been a work shortage at the time, what with no war going on.

  3. There’s always a good reason to have someone do something useless! I pretty much agree with Terry.

    A friend of mine who was in Malawi at the same time as I got really annoyed at a student, so had him move a lot of rocks from one place to another as punishment.
    When the student was done, and went to get the work approved and himself excused, my friend said, “You know, I don’t like the rocks there. Put all of them back where you got them from!”

    To your mom’s students – don’t stories like that make you glad you’re learning in America? *:-]

Comments are closed.