Mental Ice Cream

Baskin RobbinsAfter a really long, mind-numbing day, there’s really only one thing that makes me feel better: ice cream.

In every dining facility in Baghdad, they have Baskin Robbins ice cream. It’s not quite 31 flavors like they have back home, but it’s at least eight popular flavors.

Ever since I was little, I always loved chocolate ice cream. I would occasionally eat the fudge marble, but I would always choose chocolate first … if I had the choice. When I was a teenager, I used to add chocolate syrup to my chocolate ice cream, which is something I still practice today as a 34-year-old adult.

I don’t eat the ice cream here very often, but there are days where I leave work completely drained mentally. Those are the days where I’m allowed to have “mental ice cream.” I call it that because if I don’t have something to eat that makes me happy, I’ll go mental.

It’s dangerously close to having an eating disorder, but I seem to have no trouble eating it. So, no eating disorder here.

[Photo from Flickr / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0]
6 thoughts on “Mental Ice Cream

  1. Eating disorder in that all you eat is chocolate ice cream with chocolate syrup… heehee. Get your fill of it there because your son loves ice cream and if he sees his Daddy eating it, you are definitely going to have to share.

    I love you and I miss you. I’m still thinking about writing to Robin Meade on HLN about you in her “Salute the Troops” segment.

  2. In your present environment, MELTED Ice Cream would be considered as a victory. Teaching Iraqis’ to eat ice cream would be a good start toward world peace. HEY BASKIN-ROBBINS, ARE YOU LISTENING.????? I agree with Terry, oreos’ should be sent to lend some sanity to the operation.

Comments are closed.