The Shape of Things to Come

Monitor Wall of NewsAs the media operations officer for my unit, keeping an eye as to what’s going on in the world is important.

Actually, I spend a lot of time watching the news at work. I spend about an equal amount of time reading news stories posted on the web.

As you can see in the photo, we have a monitor wall where several news channels are always on. From right to left, we watch CNN International, Al-Jazeera English, BBC Arabic, and Al-Jazeera Arabic. Further down the wall is Al-Arabiya TV. Yet another monitor shows a selection of news channels including Fox, MSNBC and CNN.

I’ve spent a greater part of this week setting up a major media event for later this month. That has given me the opportunity to network with some major players in the western media. Mostly, we try to engage the Pan-Arab media, so talking to CNN, Associated Press and Reuters is a real change of pace.

I know this is going to be a huge event because when we told the general which organizations would be attending, it was the first time I thought he looked scared of something. He took a breath, and we moved on.

I’m apparently not afraid of the media. Earlier this week, I was in every major newspaper in America based on a statement I gave to both AP and AFP.

3 thoughts on “The Shape of Things to Come

  1. What? No link to any of your articles?
    Ok, I can do that too…
    I’m famous! I’m mentioned everywhere!
    (I leave it to you to find proof of my fame.)

    *:-]

    • Oh, you’ve not been paying attention! I think this is the third or fourth time since I’ve been here where my name has popped up in America’s newspapers. I think the NYT had me twice before this.

Comments are closed.