The Light at the End of the Tunnel

Light at the End of the TunnelI’ve been here for 72 days exactly. I’m in that weird spot where I’m almost halfway through my deployment… but not quite long enough to say I’m “halfway through” my deployment.

Still, I feel like I can eventually see the light at the end of the tunnel.

In just a couple days, it will be September. When you think that I’ve been here since June, it seems like a lot longer than 72 days, but that’s just the math toying with my brain. When you think that I only need to make it to December, it seems like there is hope yet.

I’ve worked every day for 10 weeks straight. The last day off was on June 14th. I’m not going to lie to you. I’m burnt out like the light outside my room. It’s not that I’m not capable of doing the job, but every now and then I just need a break.

Fortunately, I’ve already put in my paperwork to take about four or five days off in October. They will actually fly me out of here to a place where I can get real milk. There are other things I can do there, too, but real milk is the only thing on my mind (aside from not working). On a six-month deployment, I don’t get to fly back home in the middle like other people do. I would have to be here for a year-long tour, and I wouldn’t ever want to do that.

I miss my family every day. I try to video chat with them several times per week. It doesn’t always work out well with the connection, but the ability to stay in touch with people back home helps me about as much as it helps them. My son is growing up and learning new words. He talks to me through the computer, but I have no idea what the heck he’s saying. I need a linguist that speaks the language of 19-month-olds.

5 thoughts on “The Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. We count every day until you are back home with all of us!
    Stay strong, keep the faith! Thank you, son, for your service to our country! You are our hero!

  2. Brad,

    I’ve been thinking about you and reading your blog posts occasionally. I know that it is tough to be away from family for so long but just think how sweet your return will be! I know Jennifer and Ferris miss you so much and can’t wait to see you. Not to be trite, but the service you are doing for our country is something that you will always be proud of, and so many people (including me) appreciate it.

    If you are back in time perhaps I will see you at the always entertaining/awkward Crowley Christmas Party. That’s something you can look forward to, right? haha

    Take care and be safe!

    Caitlin C.

  3. we are counting the days too! Ferris will be so happy to see you again and i imagine you will be so overjoyed. December will be here before you know it. Your Dad and I and your entire family are so proud of you and like your Mom said we know who and what a Hero is!!! YOU!

    Mama Pat

  4. I also look forward to your return. There are a lot of people who are proud of you. You too must take pride in doing the “voodoo, that you do, SOOOO well”. ALL OF YOU SERVING THERE ARE HEROES of the first magnitude. I believe in our young people and am not discouraged. Each generation rises to the occasion, we just hear too much about the “bad apples”. Fortunately, the other youngsters do what must be done. I still have HOPE!!!

Comments are closed.