Sigh of Relief

Good news. I visited my friend this morning. She’s a little banged up, but she won’t be able to finish her deployment.

She’ll be heading stateside soon to recover from her injuries.

Although I cannot get into details, complacency is a factor. I can’t stress enough how important it is to be alert and consider whether your actions are predictable to the people who want to kill you. Obviously, it wasn’t my friend’s fault, but the processes in place for the mission she was on resulted in her getting a bed in the ICU. In fact, complacency in MY group’s drive over to the hospital was evident.

My friend, Jeff (the fisher king), said that deployments aren’t all “chicken wings and Kodak moments.” He’s right, and there’s not a day that goes by where I don’t remember that at any given moment, someone could threaten my life.

I try to hide it through humor and blogging (and occasionally both at the same time), but I worry all the time. I know I’ll be happy when I get home. I know my family will be too.

8 thoughts on “Sigh of Relief

  1. YES we certainly will. Glad she is doing better. BTW, “Chicken wings and kodak moments” I like that. Keep serpentining …….

  2. Holy crap that photo is unbelievable! I read your blog all the time and love it! I’m glad to hear you’re OK and I’m sorry to hear about your friend.
    Your blog is amazing and I really like the connection to the reality of what’s going on over there. Helps put into perspective that reports, presentations, email and OMG, that brief had better be on time is really a load of BS!
    Your friend is probably headed to Balad, then Landstuhl. The stat is that making it to Balad gets you 99%.
    Hang in there and stay as safe as possible.
    Jen

  3. I’m glad to hear your friend is OK and will survive her ordeal. From my own experiences over there, complacency is probably the most dangerous thing that WE can control to prevent ourselves from getting blown up. I’m sorry that your friend and her troops had to learn the hard way and that you are going through the emotions that you’re going through.

    That said, keep writing about the “chicken wings and Kodak moments” because humor is what keeps you sane — you have to see the good out there because there’s plenty of it to see, even smack dab in the middle of a war zone.

    On a side note, I too love reading your blog because it brings back memories only those of us who have been over there can really relate too — things that make serving with each other so memorable.

    Keep up the great work and go enjoy some wings!

    • BBQ, I ate some wings today in your honor. Coincidentally, the wings at the Coalition Cafe are WAY better than the ones at the Sports Oasis on Victory. Also, Coalition has something called “cold drinks” which apparently isn’t important to the people at the large DFAC.

  4. Hi buddy,
    You are so right we will be relived when your feet ore on US soil. Keep u the good work and stay strong for us. We miss you voice and can’t wait until we get to give you that first at home hug.

    Luv,
    Mama Pat

  5. Neither Pat nor I use spell check, but the message and thoughts are the important part. Glad she will be OK but she has some recovery still ahead. She as well as the rest of you are in our prayers. Don’t forget CHIK FILET on your way to the Cruise. I have friends at Balad, Landstuhl and in some of the Med Staging Flights along the way. She will be well taken care of.

  6. Thanks, I’m glad you found some that are half-way decent. I had the “luxury” of traveling around to different bases when I was there — my favorite food was not the wings, but rather the lemon cake. Do the DFACs still have them?

Comments are closed.