Serious Business

A good friend of mine was hurt in a convoy attack today.

I found out about the attack itself this afternoon.  Later, I found out that my friend was one of the people hurt in the attack.  This news gets to me in the middle of my dinner at the dining facility.

My first reaction was concern.  Very quickly my concern turned to anger.  Hard anger.  I’m mad, and my face shows it.  I’m going to visit this friend very soon, and I hope I can become un-angry before the visit.

Obviously, I’m very upset.  We trained together at Fort Dix, N.J., and I would like to think our families would hang out together if we were stationed together.

War is serious business.  Look no further than the events of today.

I feel like I’m losing my mind.  This isn’t real is it?

7 thoughts on “Serious Business

  1. Brad, I am so sorry for your friend and wish we were there to comfort you. you stay strong for your friend and for us. I can not imagine what you are going through. But remember God does not desert us, so don’t you forget him either. I will pray for you and your friend’s safety and I love you. Remember your training and try to do the best you can. I love you

    Pat

  2. Give him my best wishes. You be strong and be a friend. he needs that right now. Anger is to be expected. Channel it into being a friend and making sure that all you do is safe and be mindful of those things around you that keep all of you safe. will e-mail you more on your site. Dad

  3. Tell your friend that many people, including me, are thinking of him right now.
    Stay strong for yourself, those around you and us. We love you.

  4. So sorry to hear about your friend Brad. I will pray for her recovery and safety for all. Sounds as if it has been an exceptionally bad week in Bagdad. Be careful.

Comments are closed.