Same Old Song and Dance

Sports Oasis Dining FacilityAbout a month and a half ago, I wrote about my experiences in the dining facilities here at Camp Victory. It’s fair to say … the honeymoon is now over!

That’s not to say the food isn’t good. On most days, they serve plenty of tasty food. The rotisserie chicken is really terrific. The buffalo wings are great, and the mashed potatoes are generally very good. In fact, in most cases, the food is better than I would otherwise get back home (sorry, honey).

The problem is that now that I’m about to enter my third month here, I’m a little bored with it. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m now picking up “backup food.” For instance, I may get some roast turkey slices, but once they are on my plate, they don’t seem nearly as appetizing… usually because they are dry or something.  So, I may nab a few buffalo wings “just in case.”

Actually, getting bored with the food here has really been helping me on my diet. I’m eating sensible portions of moderately healthy food (read: chicken) and going back to my room without having gorged myself. I even manage to avoid the ice cream bar more often than not.

I’m going to cross my fingers and hope that this is just a phase. Only four more months of this expensive KBR food.

4 thoughts on “Same Old Song and Dance

  1. You have such a wonderful story telling gift. You bring a smile to my face everytime I read. Even when you cover a serious subject youmake it pleasant and interesting. Your job is natural for you. The “Sweet Corn Festival” is this weekend, I know that is your favorite food!!! (NOT!!). Thinking of you always!

    Mama Pat

  2. dude, don’t take a stab at jenn’s cooking (or lack thereof). you are just a picky eater. so there. *sticking my tongue out and making a raspberry blowing noise at you*

    🙂

Comments are closed.