Batdance

Bat FlyingMost days, I leave work just before the sun sets.  On these days, I make my way to my car uneventfully and head off to get something to eat. However, if I happen to leave past sunset, a strange thing happens. I’m attacked by bats.

Attacked may be too strong a word. They fly around very quickly, and they aren’t known for the controlled flight most birds enjoy. This makes it seem like they are ready to dive bomb you any second.

It wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t for their numbers. The darker the night, the greater the flock. Is flock the right word? UPDATE: Apparently not. Let’s go with colony.

While watching them (as I hope for them to not swoop down on me and give me rabies), I notice that they seem to do a “bat dance” with one another… not the kind by Prince. I can’t tell if it’s some sort of communication or just a product of having problems flying in a straight line.

It should come as no surprise that I’m not an expert on bats, although I have seen all the “Batman” films. I once saw “Days of Thunder” and thought I could race cars. The police tend to frown on me doing that.

(Photo from ihavebats.info)

7 thoughts on “Batdance

  1. For the next time you need to blog about bats: a group of bats can be referred to as a colony or a cloud. You’re welcome. 🙂

  2. I wonder if the Batdance has something to do with their hearing, like how bats “see” with their ears. Regardless, do you cover your head and duck?

  3. You are being dived upon!! When I was little, we walked around the block after dinner at dusk and bats would dive bomb us and pull at our hair! As kids we thought it was cool. We would just scream and run around. Mom didn’t think it was so neat. So just keep your hat on. They are just “Batty”!!!!!!

  4. I think they are just doing a dance for you. They are glad to see a friendly head go by. They should be able to tell the difference between friendly and non friendly heads, what do you think? you should put a red flashing light on your hat and see what happens!!! Just kidding!!

    Luv,

    Pat

  5. I am willing to bet that Adam West (Original Batman show, Thurs Nites at 2000, in the 1960 – 1970 era) would be tickled to see that, if only to perfect his dance steps. Hint: take off the sand goggles, they make you look like an insect (or Sandman taking a night walk).

Comments are closed.