Frakking Boxes

Box PilesI receive lots of great mail.  This is evidenced by the large pile of boxes I’ve accumulated in my room.

At the moment, I’ve got about nine boxes in various stages of “unpacked.”  Most of them are empty and their contents put away.  However, with the one in the chair, I just can’t find a place for the extra Q-Tips.

I did receive a pretty neat box this week.  My parents sent me a birthday gift containing the soundtracks to Battlestar Galactica: Season 4 and Caprica.

I’m a big fan of Bear McCreary, and I own all of the Battlestar Galactica soundtracks, which he composed.  If you’ve watched the show, you know that the music is just as much as character as is Admiral Adama.

One of my favorite tracks on the Season 4 CD is “Gaeta’s Lament.”  It’s so unlike anything I have heard before, and I’ve been listening to soundtracks for about 25 years now.

Bear has some free audio tracks on his site, so go check him out.  Also, he provides online liner notes for the Season 4 CD on his very detailed blog.  If you’re interested in the creative process behind scoring for television, you will dig the rest of the entries as well.

In case you haven’t figured it out, music is one of the things that keeps me sane in the insane world that is Baghdad.

11 thoughts on “Frakking Boxes

  1. Have you received any Amazon packages? I forget which book we sent (oops) – but hope it gets there soon!!

  2. I stumbled across this entry from the incoming links to my blog. I’m glad you’re enjoying the CD, and of course, am honored that my work can find its way around the world, especially to help people stay “sane” in insane places!

    Stay safe. So Say We All!

    -Bear McCreary

  3. You know me, still stuck on the DVD’s you sent of the original Battlestar Galactica series, which I finally completed during my recent stent of night shifts. Other than that, thoroughly enjoyed the DVD series.. SORRY TO HEAR THAT THE PRODUCER OF “FERRIS BUELLAR’S DAY OFF” recently died. John did some fabulous work in Hollywood and his talents will be missed. His ICONIC works will live on and have already achieved almost cult followings. I look forward to your comments on his film works.

  4. I just woke up, and I’m doing a little dance because Bear McCreary just commented on my blog!

    Rebecca, he is one of the most talented composers in the business. He studied under Elmer Bernstein and has been involved with BSG since the mini-series/pilot.

    Dad, John Hughes was in touch with the 80s teenager. I don’t know if there is anyone like him today.

    Carole/Clay, I did receive an Amazon package with a John Grisham book inside. Thank you for your generosity! I have a LOT of books to read now.

  5. The BSG soundtracks have become some of my favourite to listen to while playing video games believe it or not. Check out the Eureka soundtracks as well. I got it for Christmas this year and it is really cool.

  6. Oh my gosh! How cool is that? You got a comment from one of your musical heroes. Thanks so much Bear, for everything. Keep up the good work!

  7. Wow, ya never know how many people will read what we put out there on net. Also Brad, Steve & I sent a box for your birthday with a movie in it. Did you get it? Have fun on your 4 day vacation!

  8. Pingback: Unanswered Questions « Blogging Iraq

Comments are closed.