The Breakfast Club

The Breakfast ClubRecently, I was asked whether I had established a routine since arriving here.

In Baghdad, people become creatures of habit fairly quickly. For instance, I know that if I drop off my laundry at 7 a.m., a group of workers with hard hats will pass me on the sidewalk as I walk back to my vehicle.

It took me a couple of weeks to notice this (as I don’t do my laundry every day). What I rapidly learned was that I wasn’t the only one who had gotten himself into a routine.

About three weeks into this deployment, I noticed that I was always sitting near the same people at breakfast — an Air Force master sergeant and an Air Force captain. One day, I struck up a conversation with the master sergeant, and it’s been a daily occurrence ever since.

We’ve since added the nearby captain to our morning routine. Today, we addressed the issue of our tendency to get into routines, and that’s why we are always at the dining facility at the same time every morning.

So, without trying very hard, we have managed to become friends and look forward to debating which celebrity will die next (my money’s on Andy Rooney) or just talking about the random things that happen here.

Does that answer your question?

Sincerely yours,
The Breakfast Club

One thought on “The Breakfast Club

  1. What shift are you working? I never saw breakfast, except the day of the Super Bowl, which meant I was walking out of the dining facility as breakfast was starting. Otherwise I worked the Noon to Midnight Shift and was usually sleeping for breakfast. It really through my clock off.

Comments are closed.