Heavy Clouds, But No Rain

Palm Trees in IraqI’ve been here for more than a month, and it has not rained once. I’m starting to think there may be a reason that Baghdad is situated in the middle of a desert.

I don’t have many pictures of palm trees other than the ones posted here, but there are several all over this military complex. I guess Saddam’s landscaper had a thing for palm trees.

It turns out that palm trees flourish in temperate climates like this. Apparently the lack of rain doesn’t matter to these trees because I’ve yet to see a dead palm tree. I can guarantee you that the military has not hired a contractor to deal with landscaping around here, so these things are the originals that were here when Saddam was still around in 2003. Not bad for being neglected for six years!

I’m told the rainy season kicks off this fall. We’ll see how different everything looks then. I’m guessing more gray and less orange.

Here’s another picture I took recently. The blowing sand provided a great color filter for my near-dusk photo.

DSCN1484

