Party at the Lake

Chris grills steaks on the lakeIn honor of nothing other than it being Saturday, our unit had a little cookout on the lake.

Some folks bought some steaks at the store here, and I was in charge of getting the two grills started. Fortunately, we had some bags of Match Light (also from the store), so lighting them was easy… once we found a lighter.

I don’t think I had ever been at my office past dusk before, but it’s nice out here. If you didn’t know there were people on the other side of the wall who wanted to cause me harm, you would think it was a cookout at any other lake in the United States. Also, I’ve never worn a weapon to a cookout in the United States… so, that’s different, too.

I drank a Coke that I reappropriated from the dining facility. I forgot to mention before that these Cokes have pull tabs, which haven’t been seen in the U.S. since the early 1980s.

It was nice to just hang out with friends by the lake on a cool summer’s eve, but I’m always aware that it could all go bust at any moment. Surprisingly, it didn’t.

Tomorrow’s my birthday. I have to work on my birthday, sadly. Stupid insurgents.

