Things That Go Bump in the Night

Mortar Fire in AfghanistanIt’s easy to get complacent. After all, I’ve been here three weeks, and nothing bad has happened… until last night.

Somewhere around 10 p.m., I heard a loud explosion nearby. It sounded like someone had fired off a single firework, but one of the ones that explodes with a really loud bang! It was a mortar attack.

I have no idea what the end result of the attack was, but to my knowledge, there hasn’t been a casualty at Camp Victory since 2007 due to indirect fire.

Anyway, I’m doing fine, but it’s a wake-up call for me to remember that even though I have my computer here, a bed to sleep in, and Oreos without milk, I’m still in a hazardous duty location.

I’ll be cleaning my gun today.

One thought on “Things That Go Bump in the Night

  1. Pingback: Two Months Down « Blogging Iraq

Comments are closed.