Jet Lagged

My NightstandI originally arrived in Baghdad on a Friday night. I ate dinner, slept in my terrible sleeping arrangements, and went to work the next morning. I worked all day that Saturday inprocessing in 115 degree heat.

I moved into my current room that day and spent the evening getting my bags unpacked and the room organized.

On Sunday mornings, I don’t have to be at work until roughly lunchtime. Now, even though I tried to adjust my sleep schedule on the long plane rides over here, I managed to sleep about 11 hours. I barely had enough time to get ready for work by the time I woke up.

The rest of my first week, I was completely jet lagged. I mean… falling-asleep-at-my-desk jet lagged. It took until the next Sunday before I managed to get myself on a reasonable sleep schedule. Now I wake up at about 6 a.m. every morning and make it into work by 7:30 a.m.

This Sunday is probably the first Sunday I’ll wake up and have nothing to do until work begins.

Aside from the computer, I keep myself busy in the room doing other things. Mostly, I read. I’m working on “The Last Juror” by John Grisham. As I started to read it, I realized I had actually started the book long ago but gave up on it. Life got in the way. But since I have no television, and the streaming XM Radio works only part of the time, I’m getting a lot more pages read.

Technology is a luxury here. I have no television and the internet is slower than my old 56K modem back in 1999. To that end, if you ever notice the website is broken (missing “add comments” or busted pictures/links), please send me a note through my travel site and let me know.

One thought on “Jet Lagged

  1. Pingback: The Grand Tour « Blogging Iraq

Comments are closed.