The First Convoy

Convoy in IraqToday was interesting. The day I arrived here, I was told that I would be going on a convoy today. I was pretty hesitant about it, but it turned out to be really cool.

The folks I rode with were the best at running convoys… very experienced and in high demand.

You wouldn’t believe how empty the roads are in Baghdad. There are cars, but it’s like driving in Montgomery at night… hardly any traffic. Still, there are things happening all over the place, and there are people everywhere. It’s really easy to get paranoid about every single person taking a passing interest in your convoy, but it’s the great training I received that helps me recognize when it’s MORE than a passing interest.

So, I made it through my first convoy, and I don’t have anything interesting to say about the trip. That’s good, right?

