The Last Time

Movie TheaterOne of the oddities about going off to a deployment is the need to do several things “one last time” before I go.

It’s really strange because I didn’t consciously decide that I would go to my favorite restaurant one last time until I actually went there and realized it was, in fact, the last time before deploying.

I guess it’s all about doing things that I won’t be able to do while in the middle of the desert.

Lately, I’ve been going to as many movies as I can. Recently, I’ve seen “Angels and Demons,” “Star Trek,” “X-Men Origins: Wolverine,” “Terminator: Salvation,” “Night at the Musuem: Battle of the Smithsonian,” and “The Hangover.”

In the past three weeks I’ve seen more movies than in the previous six months.

They say you can get bootleg versions of any new movie while overseas, but as a sometimes-actor who gets royalties on things like legitimate DVD and Blu-Ray sales, I just can’t do it. I suppose that will make me a stick in the mud, but I prefer to do the right thing especially since actors and other folks in the film industry depend on these royalties to survive.

Time continues to be short.

