Gearing Up to Go

Boarding a PlaneIt’s getting very close to my departure from Alabama to Iraq. I’ve completed most of my pre-deployment training except for one item that I’m not entirely sure I’m required to take. I’ll take it anyway.

Lately, I’ve been slowed down by network maintenance on the base. While the computer experts are working on improving the Maxwell network, I’m focusing on items that don’t require me to login to a computer somewhere.

One of the things you get early on in the process of deploying is a checklist. Actually, I received no less than four of them. One was medical. One was a checklist for other organizations. One was a checklist for my training requirements, and the other was another training checklist with lots of redundant entries. Hey… it’s the government.

I can’t say exactly when I’ll be taking off for Iraq (again, that’s troop movements, and I can’t discuss those). However, the time is so short, I’m really starting to feel the pressure of leaving my family behind.

It’s really important to ensure that I’m ready to deploy, but it’s equally important to make sure that my family is prepared for living life in my absence. That means powers of attorney, setting up automatic bill payments, shutting off cell phones, and also making sure their support structure is in place and viable.

I worry about them, but I know that they will do fine while I’m gone. My wife has built up a terrific support system in the year we’ve been stationed in Montgomery — one she never really had while we were in California. I’ll miss my family, but I know they will be taken care of.

Now, if I can only figure out a way to keep her from spending all our money at the IKEA.

